Music concert – Octet of European and Chinese Musicians by ONE®


ONE®- an Orchestra Network for Europe

Thursday, October 6th 2016 at 7.00PM
Doors will open from 6.30PM
Free entrance but registration is compulsory:


The 2nd edition of the China Arts Festival in the EU will be held between October and December this year in the heart of Brussels. On this occasion, the China Cultural Center in Brussels invites ONE®- an Orchestra Network for Europe, to give the audience a wonderful performance, with the performing artists coming from France, Slovenia, Bulgaria and China. Apart from the Western musical classics, Octet for strings and Concerto for Four Violins and Cello in B Minor, the program boasts of the Chinese string ensemble Moon’s reflection ErQuan, adapted by Mr. Wu Zuqiang. The last tune is considered the unprecedented masterpiece of Chinese folk musician A Bing, which also plays an important part in the world of music. The ONE® artists integrate various cultures, values and ideals into their creation, merging the Chinese and European cultures together through this performance, which best exemplifies the music without borders.

ONE®- an Orchestra Network for Europe, is a distinctive network of classical symphony orchestras initiated in 2003 but still unique of its kind today. Focused on addressing the specific issues of the classical music sector, ONE® has designed and implemented cooperation projects promoting intercultural dialogue and extending artistic reach across borders. Since 2005, the network has received support from the European Union for five successive periods of activity under the Culture and Creative Europe Programmes.

Creative Europe

Creative Europe is a funding program initiated by EACEA (Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency) of DG EAC, with the Director-General Mr. Martine Reicherts and commissioner Mr. Tibor Navracsics being in charge.  EACEA provides funding support and services for the European education, culture and audiovisual sectors, whose featured programs include the Erasmus Program and Creative Europe program.

ONE® is more 2015-2019

From July 2015 to March 2019 inspired by a long-standing experience of cooperation and reinforced by the input of a new partner, ONE® is more concentrates on how the classical music sector opens up to digital technologies, questions the concert format, interacts with visual arts and promotes young artists.

The Lead partner Orchestre de Picardie (Amiens-France) and the 7 partners Jenaer Philharmonie (Jena-Germany), Slovak Sinfonietta Žilina (Žilina-Slovakia), RTV Slo Symphony Orchestra (Ljubljana-Slovenia), Filharmonia Śląska im. Henryka Mikołaja Góreckiego (Katowice-Poland), Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic Orchestra (Zlín-Czech Republic), New Symphony Orchestra (Sofia-Bulgaria) and University for the Creative Arts – UCA (Canterbury-UK) develop innovative and creative interdisciplinary classical music experiences for larger audiences across Europe. Over this period, in order to achieve the 38 scheduled activities, the partners also rely on the involvement of 22 associated organizations from Europe and further (Mexico – China).

Through sharing activities such as joint residencies, combined performances and exchanges, orchestra musicians have met colleagues from partner orchestras with whom they want to develop an artistic project. This results in the creation of transnational chamber music groups. Such groups promote the advanced talent flow, strengthen transnational artistic exchanges and cooperation and also simulate the diversified development of classical music.

This transnational chamber music group (octet) is composed of:

Mr Taiping WANG – Sub leader, Orchestre de Picardie (Amiens – France)
Mrs XiaoCao SHA – Violin (CN)
Mr Yawei CHENG – Violin (CN)
Mr Rémy WANG – Violin (FR)
Mrs Gea PANTNER VOLFAND – Viola, RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra (Ljubljana – Slovenia)
Mrs Stefania YANKOVA – Viola, New Symphony Orchestra (Sofia, Bulgaria)
Mrs Marie-France PLAYS – Cello, Orchestre de Picardie (Amiens – France)
Mr Runshen WANG – Cello (CN)


Concerto for Four Violins and Cello in B Minor, Op. 3, No. 1 by Italian composer and violinist ANTONIO VIVALDI
Moon’s reflection ErQuan by Chinese composer, musicologist and educator WU ZUQIANG
Octet for strings op.20 by German composer and representative of Romantical music FELIX MENDELSSOHN

Upcoming concerts:

October 7 2016, 20h30 – Salle des fêtes, Brouchy (France)
October 8 2016, 12h30 – Chapelle du Carmel, Abbeville (France)




This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This publication reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein